John Fullbright

This passed Saturday something amazing happened. I was hanging out at a coffee shop reading (a book on Bob Dylan to precise, my Bob Dylan phase is still underway), when I mosied over to Instagram. I saw that one of my good friends from college was going to be in town and playing a concert in Dallas. This time around he was playing with John Fullbright.

fullbright-woodyfest11-3220-vrf-800x618

I had plans to see Zero Dark Thirty that night, but luckily I have super flexible friends, one of whom was up for seeing the show! So we headed to Poor David’s Pub in Dallas. I’d never been there before, but I have had plans to check out the record store next door. It was kind of a cool setting. I’m all for small venues, but I can’t deny that the chairs were a killer and my lower back is still not happy about it. Anyways. I’m still in the early stages of my Bob Dylan phase, but watching Fullbright is what I imagine it would feel like to watch Dylan play when he first arrived to NYC. This guy (Fullbright) is going places. There’s no doubt about it. In fact, he’s up for a grammy. The whole band was super talented, and seemed to be having fun on the stage. Before John, Poor David’s daughter opened the show and she was also fantastic. She just came back from living in Paris for 3 months. So I kind of wanted to be her best friend. Don’t worry, I tried to play it cool.

One interesting thing I have gathered from Bob Dylan is the impact that folk music can have. The songs aren’t just about love, they sing about everything. Since, there are so many other emotions and life experiences that are bigger than that time someone broke your heart. And each song can have a different impact on you depending on your mood, the singer, and your general life experiences.

My only regret is I didn’t have enough cash on me to buy a CD.

Check out the songs below, if you like what you hear you can listen more on his site.

“The Fat Man” by John Fullbright from Tom Weber on Vimeo.

“Jericho” by John Fullbright from Tom Weber on Vimeo.

Leave a Reply

